Clock, Time in New Zealand  © Earls37a via Flickr

Time in New Zealand

New Zealand is the first major country in the world to see the new day, 12 hours ahead* of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).

* Note the Chatham Islands are a further 45 minutes ahead of New Zealand time

Below is information on Daylight Savings in New Zealand, and a guide to the time difference between New Zealand and other major destinations around the world.

Daylight Savings in New Zealand

In the summer New Zealand uses Daylight Savings, and clocks are put forward one hour to GMT +13.  Daylight savings commences on the last Sunday in September and ends on the first Sunday of the following April.

During the height of summer the sun sets at around 8:30pm (or later if you're in the deep south), giving you even more time to enjoy the great New Zealand outdoors!
 

World Times

At 12 noon (Standard Time) Wellington:   

Athens

2.00am

Madrid

1.00am

Bangkok

7.00am

Montreal

7.00pm*

Beijing

8.00am

Moscow

3.00am

Bombay

5.30am

New York

7.00pm*

Buenos Aires

9.00pm*

Paris

1.00am

Copenhagen

1.00am

Rio de Janeiro

9.00pm*

Dublin

12 midnight

Rome

1.00am

Hong Kong

8.00am

Seoul

9.00am

Honolulu

2.00pm*

Singapore

8.00am

Johannesburg

2.00am

Sydney

10.00am

London

12 midnight

Tokyo

9.00am

Los Angeles

4.00pm*

Vancouver

4.00pm*

* denotes previous day

 Cold Water Hut, Nelson Lakes National Park.  Nelson Tasman Tourism

Find New Zealand Accommodation

No matter what your budget, style or destination, you'll find the ideal New Zealand accommodation for your holiday.

Find Accommodation

 Skydiving at Lake Wanaka, New Zealand.  Lake Wanaka Tourism

Find New Zealand Activities

Skiing, bungy jumping, hiking, jet boating... New Zealand is the ultimate destination for fun and adventure! 

Find Activities