Generic Image, Campervan Driving, Transport

New Zealand Public & School Holidays

We have compiled a list of the New Zealand public holidays and New Zealand school holiday dates. Many shops, attractions and amenities are closed on New Zealand public holidays, whilst during school holidays, accommodation, attractions and - during winter - ski areas, can be extremely busy!

New Zealand School Holiday Dates 2014/2015

Summer School Holidays December 20 2013 - January 27 2014
Autumn School Holidays Monday 21 April- Friday May 2
Winter School Holidays Monday 7 July- Friday 18 July
Spring School Holidays Monday 29 September - Friday 10 October
Summer 2015 School Holidays Monday 22 December 2014- Friday 23 January 2015

Source: Ministry of Education

New Zealand Public Holidays 2014/2015

  Actual Date Observed in 2014 Observed in 2015
New Year's Day 1 January Wed 1 Jan Thurs 1 Jan
New Year's Holiday 2 January Thurs 2 Jan Fri 2 Jan
Waitangi Day 6 February Thurs 6 Feb Fri 6 Feb
Good Friday Varies Fri 18 April Fri 3 April
Easter Monday Varies Mon 21 April Mon 6 April
Anzac Day 25 April Fri 25 April Mon 27 April
Queen's Birthday 1st Monday in June Mon 2 June Mon 1 June
Labour Day 4th Monday in October Mon 27 Oct Mon 26 Oct
Christmas Day 25 December Thurs 25 Dec Fri 25 Dec
Boxing Day 26 December Fri 26 Dec Sat 26 Dec

 

New Zealand Provincial Holidays 2014/2015

  Actual Date Observed in 2014 Observed in 2015
Auckland 29 January Mon 27 Jan Mon 26 Jan
Taranaki 31 March Mon 10 Mar Mon 9 Mar
Hawke's Bay 1 November Fri 24 Oct Fri 23 Oct
Wellington 22 January Mon 20 Jan Mon 19 Jan
Marlborough 1 November Mon 3 Nov Mon 2 Nov
Nelson 1 February Mon 3 Feb Mon 2 Feb
Canterbury 16 December Fri 14 Nov Fri 13 Nov
South Canterbury 16 December Mon 22 Sep Mon 28 Sep
Westland 1 December Mon 1 Dec Mon 30 Nov
Otago 23 March Mon 24 Mar Mon 23 Mar
Southland 17 January Mon 22 April Tues 7 April
Chatham Islands 30 November Mon 1 Dec Mon 20 Nov

 Cold Water Hut, Nelson Lakes National Park.  Nelson Tasman Tourism

Find New Zealand Accommodation

No matter what your budget, style or destination, you'll find the ideal New Zealand accommodation for your holiday.

Find Accommodation

 Skydiving at Lake Wanaka, New Zealand.  Lake Wanaka Tourism

Find New Zealand Activities

Skiing, bungy jumping, hiking, jet boating... New Zealand is the ultimate destination for fun and adventure! 

Find Activities