Generic Image, Campervan Driving, Transport

New Zealand Public & School Holidays

We have compiled a list of the New Zealand public holidays and New Zealand school holiday dates. Many shops, attractions and amenities are closed on New Zealand public holidays, whilst during school holidays, accommodation, attractions and - during winter - ski areas, can be extremely busy!

New Zealand School Holiday Dates 2013/2014

Spring School Holidays September 27 - October 14 (2013)
Summer School Holidays December 20 - January 27 (2013/14)
Autumn School Holidays April 17 - May 4 (2014)
Winter School Holidays July 5 - July 20 (2014)

Source: Ministry of Education

New Zealand Public Holidays 2013/2014

  Actual Date Observed in 2013 Observed in 2014
New Year's Day 1 January Tues 1 Jan Wed 1 Jan
Day Following 2 January Wed 2 Jan Thurs 2 Jan
Waitangi Day 6 February Wed 6 Feb Thurs 6 Feb
Good Friday Varies Fri 29 March Fri 18 April
Easter Monday Varies Mon 1 April Mon 21 April
Anzac Day 25 April Thurs 25 April Fri 25 April
Queen's Birthday 1st Monday in June Mon 3 June Mon 2 June
Labour Day 4th Monday in October Mon 28 Oct Mon 27 Oct
Christmas Day 25 December Wed 25 Dec Thurs 25 Dec
Boxing Day 26 December Thurs 26 Dec Fri 26 Dec

 

New Zealand Provincial Holidays 2013/2014

  Actual Date Observed in 2013 Observed in 2014
Auckland 29 January Mon 28 Jan Mon 27 Jan
Taranaki 31 March Mon 11 Mar Mon 10 Mar
Hawke's Bay 1 November Fri 25 Oct Fri 24 Oct
Wellington 22 January Mon 21 Jan Mon 20 Jan
Marlborough 1 November Mon 4 Nov Mon 3 Nov
Nelson 1 February Mon 4 Feb Mon 3 Feb
Canterbury 16 December Fri 15 Nov Fri 14 Nov
South Canterbury 16 December Mon 23 Sep Mon 22 Sep
Westland 1 December Mon 2 Dec Mon 1 Dec
Otago 23 March Mon 25 Mar Mon 24 Mar
Southland 17 January Mon 2 April Mon 22 April
Chatham Islands 30 November Mon 2 Dec Mon 1 Dec

 Cold Water Hut, Nelson Lakes National Park.  Nelson Tasman Tourism

Find New Zealand Accommodation

No matter what your budget, style or destination, you'll find the ideal New Zealand accommodation for your holiday.

Find Accommodation

 Skydiving at Lake Wanaka, New Zealand.  Lake Wanaka Tourism

Find New Zealand Activities

Skiing, bungy jumping, hiking, jet boating... New Zealand is the ultimate destination for fun and adventure! 

Find Activities